What is a Vegetarian?
Vegetarian: A person who, for whatever reason (eg moral, health,religious), does not eat meat (red meat, poultry, fish,shellfish or crustacea) or by-products of slaughter.
Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian: Vegetarian who eats both dairy products and eggs.
Lacto Vegetarian: Vegetarian who eats dairy products but avoids eggs.
Ovo Vegetarian: Vegetarian who eats eggs but not dairy products.
Vegan: A person who does not eat, wear or use any products derived from animals.
Pescatarian: Avoids red meat and poultry but eats fish. Not a vegetarian.
EGGS: Many vegetarians eat only free-range eggs. This is due to welfare objections to the intensive farming of hens.
There are, of course, overlaps between these categories, and most people will be a variation of these. For example, a vegetarian may eat free range eggs but avoid leather and animal tested products. A vegan may avoid animal products except honey, arguing honey bees are endangered and buying honey helps bee farmers who lobby for reduction in bee pesticides and take anti-disease measures, and so is beneficial to bees overall.
We need definitions for clarity, but in reality, people may make equally ethically-based choices but come to different conclusions based on personal prioritisation.