Approval Criteria

 

To be NZVS Approved, a product or restaurant dish must be:NZ Vegetarian Society Approved


• Free from ingredients resulting from animal slaughter
• Free from genetically modified organisms (GMOs)
• Free from eggs produced under intensive farming systems
• Not tested on animals
• Free from cross-contamination from non-vegetarian products

 

The NZVS Approved trademark cannot be used on products containing the following:

 

1. Animal flesh (meat, fowl, fish or shellfish).

2. Meat, fish or bone stock (in soups, sauces or other dishes).

3. Animal body fats (eg white cooking fat, suet, lard, dripping) or margarine containing fish oil or ingredients derived from slaughterhouse by-products. These fats are often used in pastry and for frying, greasing tins or in other cooking.

4. Gelatine, aspic, gelatine-based block or jelly crystals for glazing, moulding or other cooking. Agar-Agar is a good alternative.

5. Cheese or whey made with animal rennet.

6. Intensively produced eggs (eg Battery eggs).Happy Free-Range Chickens!

7. Royal jelly.

8. Ingredients that have been tested on animals since 1986.

9. Ingredients which have been genetically modified.

10. Any other ingredients derived from slaughterhouse products.

Cross-contamination between vegetarian and non-vegetarian products during production must be avoided.

If the same production line is used for vegetarian and non-vegetarian products, thorough cleaning must be carried out before production of the vegetarian product commences. This includes all associated machinery, equipment, utensils, surfaces, gloves, etc which must be free from any non-vegetarian material before vegetarian products are touched, prepared, produced or packaged.

Oils used for frying non-vegetarian food must not be used to cook NZVS Approved food.

Procedures must be established to ensure cross-contamination, packaging mix-ups and errors cannot occur.

Specific Products to Pay Attention To:

Fats and Oils
Vegetable oil or solid vegetable fat should be used rather than animal derived white cooking fats. Tallow, lard, suet or fish oils are not acceptable.

Margarine
Margarine may contain whey* (a by-product of cheese-making) and E471 (which may be derived from fish oil or animal fat).

Milk and Butter
Milk, and butter made from milk fat, are acceptable.

Cheese
Cheese made from animal rennet is unacceptable as animal rennet is an enzyme extracted from the stomach of slaughtered calves. Cheese produced with enzymes from plants or micro-organisms (i.e. microbial rennet or vegetable rennilaise) is vegetarian.

Whey*
Acid whey is acceptable. Whey is not acceptable when animal derived rennet has been used in the cheese or casein making process.

Eggs
Eggs must be free range. The name and address of the free range supplier must be submitted with application and it must comply with the Vegetarian Society standards.

Gelatine
Gelatine is a slaughter by-product and is therefore unacceptable.

Gravies and Stock
No stock (liquid, cube or powder) containing meat, chicken or fish extract to be used.

Worcester Sauce
Often contains anchovies, please check/advise source. Anchovies are a fish.

Fruit Juices
Juices may have been clarified using gelatine which is an animal slaughter by-product.

Alcohol
Normally acceptable, but not when slaughterhouse products (eg gelatine) or isinglass have been used, eg in clarification or filtration.

If you found this information useful, please consider a small donation to help us create even more. You can Donate here. We use PayPal for safe online transactions.
© Copyright NZ Vegetarian Society, all rights reserved Site by HMU