Vegetarian Guests

 

Worried about having a vegetarian or vegan guest to cater for? No need to panic- many dishes you already cook may be vegetarian with just a few alterations. A few simple adjustments to ingredients and food preparation will mean a successful meal together.

Vegans and vegetarians will appreciate it if you follow these simple practices:

  • Check for ‘hidden’ non-vegetarian/vegan ingredients such as gelatine, rennet, ‘natural’ flavour and egg.
  • Use separate chopping boards, knives and serving spoons if you are making non-vegetarian dishes as well, to prevent cross-contamination
  • If you are catering for a large group of people, label each dish clearly, either with an ingredients hot-list, or ‘vegan’ etc.

The UK Vegetarian Site has some tips and information to help you and our Links page has information about vegetarian cheeses and wine.

If you are in doubt about vegetarian ingredients, look for our Trademark Symbol on approved products- your guests will appreciate your respect for their principles.

Our book, Home Tried Favourites, has a section on Entertaining. See our Books page for details.

Trust your guest- vegetarians appreciate your consideration and efforts towards their inclusion, and with good communication you can help each other out with the menu and any concerns about ingredients or food preparation.

Christmas Hints

If you found this information useful, please consider a small donation to help us create even more. You can Donate here. We use PayPal for safe online transactions.
© Copyright NZ Vegetarian Society, all rights reserved Site by HMU